Is High-Capacity Magazine Legal in District of Columbia? (2026)
No. In District of Columbia, high-capacity magazine is prohibited. D.C. Code §7-2506.01(b) and (c) prohibit knowing possession, sale or transfer of defined large-capacity feeding devices and state an attached .22-rimfire tubular exception..
Key facts
- Status
- Prohibited
- Permit required
- No
- Jurisdiction
- District of Columbia
- Last reviewed
- 2026-04-09
High-Capacity Magazine laws in District of Columbia
D.C. Code §7-2506.01(b) says no person in the District shall knowingly possess, sell or transfer an ammunition feeding device that is, in fact, a large-capacity ammunition feeding device, whether or not attached to a firearm. Subsection (c) defines that category as a magazine, belt, drum, feed strip or similar device with capacity for more than ten rounds, or readily restorable or convertible to accept more than ten rounds. Actual capacity and ready restoration/conversion matter; a product label alone does not decide classification. The definition excludes an attached tubular device designed to accept and capable of operating only with .22-caliber rimfire ammunition. This is a specific attached tubular-device exception, not an exemption for every .22 magazine. The provision does not state that all devices at or below ten rounds are lawful under every other rule or that a firearm registration certificate removes the large-capacity restriction. This explanation is limited to the cited District device restriction and definition; it does not certify a specific product, federal requirements, every transaction or retained legal-status/permit fields.
Frequently asked questions
Is high-capacity magazine legal in District of Columbia for travelers?
For travelers visiting District of Columbia, high-capacity magazine is currently prohibited. D.C. Code §7-2506.01(b) says no person in the District shall knowingly possess, sell or transfer an ammunition feeding device that is, in fact, a large-capacity ammunition feeding device, whether or not attached to a firearm. Subsection (c) defines that category as a magazine, belt, drum, feed strip or similar device with capacity for more than ten rounds, or readily restorable or convertible to accept more than ten rounds. Actual capacity and ready restoration/conversion matter; a product label alone does not decide classification. The definition excludes an attached tubular device designed to accept and capable of operating only with .22-caliber rimfire ammunition. This is a specific attached tubular-device exception, not an exemption for every .22 magazine. The provision does not state that all devices at or below ten rounds are lawful under every other rule or that a firearm registration certificate removes the large-capacity restriction. This explanation is limited to the cited District device restriction and definition; it does not certify a specific product, federal requirements, every transaction or retained legal-status/permit fields.
Do I need a permit for high-capacity magazine in District of Columbia?
District of Columbia does not specifically require a permit for high-capacity magazine, though general regulations apply.
Can I transport high-capacity magazine through District of Columbia?
Transport laws for high-capacity magazine in District of Columbia depend on the specific item and your route. Since this is prohibited in District of Columbia, transporting through the state carries legal risk. Always check states you pass through.
What are the penalties for high-capacity magazine violations in District of Columbia?
Penalties for high-capacity magazine violations in District of Columbia vary based on the specific offense. Always verify current laws before traveling.